Accelerated Nation

A Bold Prediction

Posted in politics by Ashley on 2010/02/23

The 2010 General Election is more than 8 months away – and that’s a lifetime in politics.  But I’ve seen enough.  The Democrats are running scared, and in no particular direction.  They’re scattering like scared animals and that’s a clear sign in my book.

So to kick off the election season, I am going to start with control of Congress and the fate of the leadership.  I’ll do more as we move into summer.elephant_and_donkey1

2010 General Election Results

Senate – 49 Republicans; 49 Democrats; 2 Other (Lieberman & Sanders). Control – DEM (R +8)

– Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV) will lose his seat

– All other members of the leadership will be re-elected

House – 217 Republicans; 216 Democrats. Control – REP (R +39)

– All members of the leadership will be re-elected

– Joseph Cao (R-LA), who has strongly supported Pres. Obama’s agenda, will lose his seat

I’m Back

Posted in Pacific Northwest, policy, politics by Ashley on 2010/01/15

images Just a quick post to say “I’m Back”.  It’s a new year, product launches are behind me and I’ll be posting again soon.  Happy MLK Day everyone – it’s the official start to the end of winter!


Weekend Politics: UPA and INC Win 2009 Indian General Election

Posted in Data, elections, India, innovation, policy, politics by Ashley on 2009/05/16

With more than 250 constituencies (out of 543)  either won or leaning United Progressive Alliance (UPA)/Indian National Congress (INC), the Hindu  nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), led by Lai Krishna Advani, has conceded defeat in India’s 2009 general election.  800px-Flag_of_India_svg

The UPA/INC, led by incumbent Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, is the first Indian leader since Nehru to win re-election after serving a full, five-year term.

Held in five stages, India’s general election polled an estimated 714 million voters in 28 states and 7 Union territories. The INC has won or is leading in 206 constituencies, a gain of 60 over 2004.  The BJP has won or is leading in 106, down 22 from 2004.

The Indian Lok Sabha is the second-largest parliamentary body in the world, after the UK House of Commons.

Live results can be found here

A bit of trivia: India uses electronic voting machines (EVMs) in nearly every constituency.  The maximum number of candidates the machine can support is 64, and if there are more than 64 candidates a ballot paper is used.  In 1996, in the Tamil Nadu state assembly constituency of Modaurichi, 1033 candidates contested the seat.  The ballot was a booklet.